Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Health News Florida

Sarasota County Gets Trauma Center


Sarasota Memorial Health Care System is now operating as a Level II trauma center, making it the first designated trauma center in Sarasota County, the Bradenton Herald reports. Sarasota Memorial says its newly hired trauma surgeons and upgraded ER will treat 500 new trauma patients this year, the Herald reports. Blake Medical Center, in neighboring Manatee County, is the other designated trauma center in the region.