Home Health Aides Covered by Labor Laws
The U. S. Department of Labor has issued new rules that could affect a large but seldom-seen part of Florida’s workforce: home health workers. While Florida’s $7.79 per hour minimum wage exceeds the federal minimum of $7.25 an hour, so professional home-health agencies in Florida already pay more than the minimum. But many personal care aides and certified nursing assistants work directly for individuals and families, who may not know they have to pay at least $7.25 an hour plus overtime, if any. As Kaiser Health News reports, the new rules take effect in 2015. Industry representatives had fought the move, saying it will hurt seniors and the disabled. Currently under federal rules, home-care aides are lumped into the same category as babysitters.