auto insurance

State Could Scrap Auto Insurance Law

Apr 20, 2017
Flickr

Florida may change the kinds of auto insurance drivers must purchase.

Florida currently requires auto drivers to carry personal injury protection of at least $10,000 in medical benefits. But critics say that isn’t enough to cover health care costs when there’s an accident. Lawmakers are considering changing up the insurance coverage drivers must have.

Court Sides With Allstate In Medical Fee Fight

Jul 14, 2016

Adding to a legal debate before the Florida Supreme Court, an appeals court Wednesday sided with Allstate Insurance in a dispute with medical providers about fees paid to care for auto-accident victims.

Court Backs Hospital in Insurer Dispute

Jun 23, 2015

In a case stemming from charges for personal-injury protection claims, an appeals court Monday said a Jacksonville hospital does not have to turn over information to State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company about contracts with health insurers.

A three-judge panel of the 1st District Court of Appeal sided with Shands Jacksonville Medical Center, which now is known as UF Health Jacksonville. The ruling came in a case filed by State Farm as it sought copies of contracts that could show the hospital agreeing to discounted reimbursement rates with health insurers.

CFO Atwater Not Ready to Replace Insurance Commissioner

Jan 28, 2015

State Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater isn't ready to discuss a Louisiana official tabbed by Gov. Rick Scott as a possible replacement for Florida's longtime insurance commissioner.

Atwater's office reiterated Tuesday that he wants Cabinet members to clearly establish a new process to replace Cabinet-level appointees before discussing a potential move by Scott to replace leaders at the Office of Insurance Regulation, the Office of Financial Regulation and the Department of Revenue.

Acupuncturists and massage therapists who were hoping the Florida Supreme Court would overturn a 2012 law that made significant changes to the state's no-fault auto insurance system are out of luck, the News Service of Florida reports.

The court has refused to hear the suit, so that means the PIP law, which set benchmarks for insurance rates and requires patients to seek treatment within 14 days of an accident, will remain in place.

Acather96 / Wikimedia Commons

A report from Florida’s Office of Insurance Regulation says the rates for personal injury protection insurance are declining because of a recent state law that requires insurers to lower premiums, or provide strong justification for why they’re not charging less.

OIR's preliminary analysis of the rates submitted by insurance companies that write policies for 75 percent of Florida drivers says since 2012, there has been an estimated average statewide savings in personal injury protection (PIP) premiums of 13.2 percent. 

Acather96 / Wikimedia Commons

Committees in both the House and Senate are considering a call to get rid of the state’s “no-fault” auto insurance coverage, and replace it with a system that would force the insurer of the at-fault  driver to pay. 

Such a system would require drivers to carry a different kind of coverage, replacing personal injury protection (PIP) with bodily injury.